How I Hard Boil My Eggs

18 Feb
A hard boiled egg halved - Whitmore Hands

A hard boiled egg cut in half by Mr Whitmore

I enjoy having a bit of egg and bacon on a Sunday but I prefer not to fry it all and instead choose to grill the bacon and boil the eggs – much healthier in my opinion.

I wanted to share my method of cooking hard boiled eggs, which come out perfect every time and taste delicious for those of you who want to enjoy the healthier alternative to an English fry-up.

Apparatus

To make my hard boiled eggs I used the following:

  • an electric hob
  • a small saucepan
  • 4 medium-sized chicken eggs
  • tap water

Cooking Method

Using these 5 simple steps you’ll be able to cook the perfect hard boiled egg:

  1. To begin with I placed the eggs in the saucepan and added cold tap water so that the eggs were submerged with two centimetres between them and the surface of the water (use the tip of your index finger as a measurement).
  2. The full saucepan was then placed on the hob and I turned the heat on to around 3/4 of maximum heat.
  3. I waited until the eggs began to boil (a few repetative bubbles will indicate this) and left them to boil for 3 minutes using a sand timer to record this.
  4. Once the three minutes had ended I turned the heat off of the hob and replaced the hot water in the pan with cold water from the tap.
  5. I left the eggs in cold water for 5 minutes before peeling them using a particular technique that will be explained below.

Peeling Technique

I used to struggle with peeling hard boiled eggs because my parents always taught me to tap the top of it with a spoon and peel down, however, since living with a flat mate I have learned a new method which is much faster and less mess:

  1. Lay the hard boiled egg on its site and bash it against a hard surface.
  2. Roll the egg forward so it creates a crazy-paving effect on the egg shell that goes around the circumference of the egg.
  3. Pick one part away using your thumb and the rest of the shell should easily come away from the boiled egg.

Here’s a quick 6 second video I created on how you crack the egg using the rolling method:

Feel free to subscribe to my YouTube channel if you want to view more of my videos.

Summary

Now that I’ve shared my method of making a hard boiled egg I hope you try it out yourself. If you feel like you have any tips or techniques of your own then please share them in the comments below.

One Response to “How I Hard Boil My Eggs”

  1. hockleystalky@yahoo.co.uk 18/02/2013 at 11:36 AM #

    Lovely eggs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

